top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

Sports + Biblical Encouragement

Hey!! Most of y’all know that I love sports. Just for the fun of it, I decided to make a list of my favorite sports and the Bible verses that help me through sports. Even though I like all sports, these are just my top ten all-time favorites. Enjoy!!

1. Basketball- I love basketball! Even though I’m not a naturally good player, I still think it's my favorite. Sure, I have to work harder at it then most other sports I play, but that’s the fun of it. I love how competitive of a sport it is. I like the feeling of making a shot or even blocking one. 🏀

2. Softball/Baseball- I usually play this sport while on furlough and not really ever while in Asia. I am usually the pitcher but sometimes I play 3rd base.⚾️

3. Soccer/football- I think out of all the sports I’m listing today this sport is the one I try my absolute hardest at. It’s probably the most natural sport that I play. I am a goalie and I play that position most of the time. It is also the sport that I get the most injuries such as: Being trampled on by 3 older girls (that had cleats on), diving to block a shot but accidentally diving straight into the goal post, collided into an aggressive and stubborn (older) player. Stuff like that tends to happen a lot.⚽️

4. Archery- When my family and I are in America, we go bow hunting a lot. I really love hunting! We usually hunt white-tailed deer and sometimes turkey. I have my own compound bow and I practice a lot while on furlough!!🏹

5. Rugby- I was introduced to rugby at school during PE and I fell in love with this sport immediately. It’s really really fun and I have learned a lot about it. 🏉

6. Netball- This sport is a lot like Basketball, but with even MORE rules than Basketball! It’s a tough sport and that’s what I love about it.🏀

7. Volleyball- My cousin plays Volleyball and when I went on furlough she taught me all about it. Even though It’s not the best sport that I play, I still like playing for fun with my cousins in the states.🏐

8. Gymnastics- I used to be really good at this sport. I kinda gave it up when I was 10, but I still love to watch it!🤸‍♂️

9. American Football- Mostly I watch football because I’m not all that great at the sport. I’m okay, but I’d rather watch it.🏈

10. Running- My mom is a runner and I love to run too! I don’t run competitively, though I sometimes run track. I run three 5ks a year and sometimes more. I really love the feeling of finishing a well ran race.🏃‍♀️

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me - Philippians 4:13

I try to say this verse before every sports event or game I play in. It reminds me that I should always play as if God is sitting in the stands and I should always try my absolute best. If I try my absolute best then that is good enough for God. God strengthens me emotionally and physically.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. - Deuteronomy 31:6

This verse helped me through a big basketball event that happened at my school a couple of months back. A lot of the girls I was playing with/against were a lot taller and bigger than me. Honestly, it was so hard being one of the youngest, shortest, and smallest players. I was threatened by some not so nice older girls (some of them on my own team) and I got mad at one of my teammates. This verse helped me remember that I didn’t need to be scared or mad just because I was the smallest. God was with me. (And thankfully he saved my teammate from being strangled by me. 😂)

I have fought a good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept up faith. - 2 Timothy 4:7

I am SUPER competitive and sometimes I don’t take losing very well. This verse really helps me remember that I most likely tried my best. That is definitely the most important thing in sports: when you try your absolute best. (Sometimes that is hard to remember)

I hope you enjoyed reading my article today and that these Bible verses encourage you! See y’all next time.

-Heather ⛹️‍♀️

65 views0 comments
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page