top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

The Poison of Loss


Hey guys! Long time no see…wow, yeah, I guess I haven’t written in a while. I hope your summers went well and that your school years are off to good starts. 

I didn’t really have a writing plan today, but I found this piece of creative writing I did this summer so I thought I’d share it with y’all. Here it is… 


Losing friends, whether to the clutches of death or to the borders of a far off land, is like having an itch you can’t scratch. It’s like a toothache you keep rubbing over and over because it’s painful. Even though it hurts, you keep rubbing it. It’s almost like you WANT the pain. 


I don’t want the pain… well, that’s a lie. I want the pain because it means I’ve loved well. I want the pain because I know that I’ve  had the time of my life, and that I can look back on the memories with fondness. Pretty twisted, right? 


When you first lose someone you feel like your heart has been ripped out. Like there’s a piece of you that’s missing forever. 


The sting of loss is bitter. 


Losing someone for the first time is tragic, and losing people all the time, every year, is agonizing. Just knowing that it hurts, that it will hurt, that it STILL hurts, is enough to drive you insane. It’s the expectation of loss that will trip you up, beat you down, grind you up, and then spit on you for good measure. 





Loss like this kills. Trust me… 


If you don’t have something to cling too, like faith, family, friends, or your sanity, the loss will strip you apart, piece by piece, until you know there is nothing left. 


Grip that lifeline tight, will you? 


One of the worst things about loss, I think, is the way it refuses to leave you. Loss is cruel you know, and it has a mind of its own. You can get over the initial surge of pain, fight through all the tears, and even go so far as to say that you’ll be okay. 


Don’t fool yourself for a second. Loss knows when your guard is down, so be prepared. 


You may be walking down the street, sitting glumly in your room, or bent over your homework, your mind occupied with a million other little things, when it strikes. You may hear a thread of far off laughter, listen to the lyrics of a haunting song, or taste the edge of some long lost memory, and it will come crashing down on you in a flood of raw emotion. 


Grief can stunt your soul. Don’t let it. 


The sting of loss is bitter. 



I wrote this at the beginning of the summer when I was going through a rough time. End of year goodbyes had just finished and although I was on vacation, I still felt raw from all the farewells.

Despite the obvious sense of hopelessness in this bit of writing, since then, I’ve come to realize that God always gives back or replaces what He takes in ways we don’t expect. In fact, I I can’t think of one thing He’s taken that He hasn’t given back twice over! Praise God! 

Anyways, I know that we all carry the weight of life’s hardships and various obstacles. If you’re currently going through a hard time in your life I would encourage you to get into journaling and writing. These habits can not only serve as a therapeutic activity, but also a way to process your thoughts and emotions. I personally don’t journal a lot, but when I do I feel like I can actually slow down and talk to God when I write. 

I hope you guys are all doing well. May God give you his peace this month. 

Until next time! 

Brittany

23 views0 comments

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page