top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

An Interview with Ms. Priya

Hey guys! Today I thought it would be cool if I interviewed a teacher that works at an international school. She has a lot of experience teaching and interacting with TCKs all over the world. Her name is Ms. Priya, and she is my homeroom teacher. I hope you enjoy this article!

Where do you live?

Asia

How long have you been a teacher?

I've been a teacher for 2 years.

What grade & subject do you teach?

Art for kindergarten through grade 8 and health for Grade 6

What is your favorite thing about teaching at an international school?

I love learning about and adapting new cultures (I got to know so many things that I never knew before).

How many different nationalities do you have in your class?

There are six different nationalities in my homeroom class.

What would you say are the three main differences between teaching TCKs and teaching local students?

There are many cultural differences, different perspectives about teaching and learning, and different learning environments.

What is the hardest thing about teaching TCKs?

Every student who walks through my door is different. Balancing every students’ different learning needs and expectations is not easy.

How has teaching TCKs impacted your life?

It helps me to build relationships that will last through time and distance. I learn from my students as they are more cultured than many people I know.

When you were younger did you ever even imagine that you would one day be

teaching kids from all over the world?

Never, but I always wished to teach TCKs.

What advice would you give to a new teacher teaching TCKs?

Growing up between cultures comes with unique challenges for the kids, but take this as an opportunity to learn and to explore different experiences. It’s okay to feel different but remember you have an ability to deal with crises. You are special and unique, and so are the TCKs you are teaching.

I hope you guys enjoyed hearing from a teacher's perspective of TCKs. I'd like to thank Ms. Priya for letting me interview her and share her answers on The TCK Times. See y’all next time!!!

Heather🏀

23 views0 comments
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page