top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureSalem

September Guest Post: Salem

Hey everyone! This month's guest post is written by Salem. You might remember her from the COVID-19 Interview: Salem. Go check it out to hear a bit more about her and her life, and enjoy this article!

9 Things You Can do Outside Without Leaving Your Front Porch

Hello everyone! Have you ever been stuck inside ALL DAY LONG and just need something to do outside? This is me all. the. time. If you live somewhere without a yard, but with a balcony, driveway, or porch (or anyplace outside) this may be helpful. Here are some things that can help you get outside more often. Enjoy!

1. Eat a meal. (This is great if you live in an apartment.) Whether it’s a bowl of cereal for breakfast or an afternoon snack, this is a GREAT way to get outside. Also, this works on busy days since it won’t take up any extra time!

2. Do your homework. Guys, this will seriously help you with homework, and you’ll get in some extra outside time. This is also great for homeschoolers (like me). I do homework for the classes I’m taking outside whenever I can.

3. Read a book. Love to read or have some reading due for school? Do it outside!

4. Do some journaling. If you journal or sometimes journal (around once every other month, like me) then do it outside! When I journal outside, my thoughts are a lot easier to put onto paper, I don’t know why but it will help.

5. Answer your email. No one likes to be stuck in front of a computer screen for a long time, but if you must why not do it outside? This also helps you get caught up on all of those emails cluttering your inbox.

6. Birdwatch. You can do this almost ANYWHERE. That may be hard to believe but even when I and my family lived in an apartment, we still birdwatched from our small balcony in the middle of a city and saw some beautiful birds. It may sound boring but it really isn’t.

7. Doodle. Listen to some of your favorite music and doodle. Don’t let drawing stress you out, art is NEVER perfect and that’s the beauty of it! It doesn’t matter if you’re good at drawing or not, just draw stripes or different sized circles, or WHATEVER you want!!!

8. Play a card game with a sibling (or friend). I mean why not? If you’re bored don’t get on a device, go outside. Next time your five-year-old sister wants to play with you, go play some Uno. Don’t have a sibling? Too bad for you XD.

9. Jump rope. Sounds kinda boring, I know, but hey, it’s something active and you don’t need a lot of space to do it. Maybe try learning some tricks. When I was younger I LOVED jump rope. At the time we didn’t have a yard and I had a lot of energy, so it worked out nicely.

I hope you found this article helpful, or at least interesting! Thanks so much for reading!

-Salem

14 views0 comments
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page