top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureRose

About Me: Rose!

Hey guys! My name is Rose, and I have written a couple of guest posts for The TCK Times over the past couple of years. I thought that this first post could be about me, my life in the past and present, and my dreams for the future.

When I was ten, my parents sat me and my three younger brothers down and told us some big news. We were moving across the world, from America to Europe! I had only been on a plane once and it felt like we were moving a world away. I couldn’t imagine living somewhere else, so far away, and I was afraid. I was afraid of change, of going so far away, and so many other things. I don’t know if you guys can relate, but it was pretty scary and I didn’t really want to move, but God helped me through it and has shown me that it was a good thing, after all.


On April 10th, 2017, we arrived in my host country. It’s hard to believe that that was almost 5 years ago! Time flies... Since then, I have learned a lot of new things and had a lot of time to adjust to the culture here, which is very different than the American culture. I had a hard time adjusting to things here, I don’t really do well with change. It was extremely hard being away from my family and still is for that matter. That was by far the hardest part of the move, but having to learn a new language wasn’t far behind on the list.

Over time, I have made really good friends and they and their parents have been like family to me. It has been really great to have them, but the only problem has been that people move. Many close friends of mine have moved in the past couple of years, which has been really hard. I know Heather did a post on this a month or so ago, and I definitely related to it. We may not be biologically related, but it’s still a family in its own way, especially since it can be hard to live away from my biological family (more hard around the holidays). However, living overseas definitely has perks, too. I have gotten a lot closer to people after moving farther away, which is kind of ironic, especially to one of my cousins and

one of my childhood friends.

I am 14 years old now, and I love writing (which is why I am pumped about writing for The TCK times on a regular basis), science, cooking, anything artsy, and reading. I have tried out many different types of art, but the one that has stuck with me so far is calligraphy. I enjoy sewing, painting, and many other types too, though. In the interview that I did a couple of years back, I said that I had started to play the violin. Sadly, I stopped playing a couple of years ago, it was really complicated and I didn’t have the time I needed to devote to practicing daily. One day, I hope to move back to the US and study medicine. This year, I am in 9th grade, which is a big deal in my host country. They consider it the last year of middle school and have a big cumulative exam at the end of the year. Lately, I have been learning to juggle a lot of different things, but still leave time for things that I love to do, like cooking, writing, drawing, reading, and doing medical research.


Anyways, I hope that you enjoyed this post and I look forward to writing more articles for The TCK Times!

Rose

130 views4 comments

4 Comments


Ann
Ann
Oct 30, 2021

Beautiful post Rose!! I’m so excited to read more of your posts in the future!! (;

Like
Rose
Rose
Aug 24, 2022
Replying to

Thanks!! You’re the best :)

Like

Kasey
Kasey
Oct 27, 2021

Welcome to the team, Rose! I'm so excited to read your articles and see what you share!

Like

Unknown member
Oct 19, 2021

Welcome Rose!!

Like
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page