top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureRose

Croque Madame

Hey guys! Happy new year!

A few years ago, I had a croque monsieur for the first time. I started making them a little while after that because they are simply divine, and I thought that I would share this recipe with you guys today!

A croque monsieur is a French sandwich that first appeared in the 1910s. It’s like a sophisticated ham and cheese. A croque madame is a variation of the exact same sandwich except for the runny egg that sits on top of the sandwich.

I base my recipe off of one I found on the internet through the Yummly app, here is the link if you are interested: https://www.vice.com/en/article/4x5g9w/croque-madame

I don’t completely stick to that recipe though!

This takes me about an hour to make, but I think that that depends on the person.

For one sandwich, you need:

  • 2 slices of bread, whatever type you like, I usually use sandwich bread.

  • A little bit of mustard, I would recommend Dijon mustard because it helps balance the richness of the cheese, ham, and sauce.

  • Ham or bacon cubes/strips

  • 2 slices of white cheese. Gruyère is what is traditionally used and recommended.

  • White cheese to sprinkle on top.

  • Béchamel sauce: you can make it or buy it, I prefer to buy it because it takes a little while to make.

  • An egg if you want your sandwich to become a croque madame.

1. Preheat the oven on the broiler setting.

2. Spread a little bit of Dijon mustard on each slice of bread. Then add a slice of cheese, a slice of ham, followed by another slice of cheese, and top it off with the second slice of bread.

3. Use your skillet or griddle to melt some butter and then toast both sides of the sandwich.

4. Spread béchamel sauce on top, and then add shredded white cheese. Put in the broiler until the top is brown, but be careful not to let the sandwich burn!

If you want to make a croque madame, follow the next two steps:

5. Cook the egg sunny side up in the skillet until done.

6. When you remove the sandwich from the oven, add the egg on top, and Voilà!


I hope that you enjoy this recipe!

Until later,

Rose 🌹

16 views0 comments

Comentários


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page