top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

December TCK Interview: Mo

Hey everyone! This interview, like last month's, is with a TCK that has now moved back to their home country (in this case, the USA). Though I typically interview TCKs that still currently live overseas with their family, this month I was able to interview a TCK who is now a college student and has lived in the States for a few years. Last month, I enjoyed seeing the perspective of someone who has experienced living overseas for a number of years but has made that hard transition back to the States, so I wanted to show you another person's perspective as well. Now, let's hear from Mo:

1. How old are you?

19.


2. What is the continent you lived on?

Asia.


3. What is the home country or state you're from?

North Carolina and Virginia.


4. How long did you live in your host country?

12 years.


5. How old were you when you became a TCK?

I was 4 years old.


6. Do you have any siblings?

Yes, a sister who is 24, a brother who is 22, and another brother who is 9.


7. What type of school do you go to? (national, international, homeschool, online school, etc)

I was homeschooled till fourth grade, then private school till the end of 10th grade, then public school for 11th-12th.


8. What are some great things about living overseas?

The amount of different cultures you experience definitely gives you an amazing look at life and how to work well with others. And it really helps you see how blessed you are even when it doesn't feel like it.


9. What's one thing you would miss about your home country?

I would miss my family the most when I was overseas, especially when my siblings came back to the USfor college; it was really hard being so far away from them.


10. What were some of your extracurriculars and hobbies overseas?

I LOVED taking care of all the stray animals and showing them the love no one else would. I also did swimming and volleyball with my school.


11. How did you communicate with your friends in your home country?

I left my home country when I was so small that I didn't really have friends there and everyone I knew was in my host country. Being back for college now, I am still able to keep in touch with them through social media like Instagram and Snapchat and we call a lot.


12. What's one hard thing about living overseas?

Nothing in the moment was ever hard for me because it was the only thing I knew, but coming back to the US and being thrown into public school was a big culture shock, and finally seeing all that I missed out on.


13. What's your favorite food that you can get in your home country?

Chola batura and a close second is paneer.


14. Is there anything else you'd like to add?

While it was hard to transition back to American life and see the things I missed out on in my childhood, I wouldn't change it for the world. I am so blessed that I was raised as a TCK and got to see and experience the things I did and was able to learn how important God is to the whole world.


 

I just want to give a big thank you to Mo for taking the time to answer all these questions. Another thanks to all of our readers who give us support & take the time out of your day to email us. Remember, you are God’s creation, made in His image by His own hands! Don’t forget that God loves you so deeply. If you would like us to interview you for one of the coming months' TCK interviews, please feel free to email us at tcktimes@gmail.com. Hope you are having a beautiful day.


~ Aliana 🌻

30 views0 comments

Comentarios


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page