top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureRose

Is reading my Bible actually important and/or beneficial?

Everyone has always told me that reading the Bible on a daily basis would change everything in my life. Growing up, I was also often confronted with people who said that it would also shape my relationship with God. Honestly, I just shrugged and ignored them, the frequency of my bible reading varying depending on the season in my life, kind of just reading it whenever I felt like it- which sometimes meant only opening my Bible twice in a 6 month period. When I moved here, I joined a youth group and one of my friends kept telling me how they really recommended reading the Bible on a daily basis. Then, a few months ago, my small group decided to read through the New Testament in 2 months. I genuinely wanted to do it, and really enjoyed it. It helped me to instill reading the Bible into my routine, and, since then I have never been the same. Reading the Bible on a daily basis really does change EVERYTHING.

In 2 Timothy 3:16, Paul says “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”(‭NIV‬)‬ The Bible is our guidebook, the way God talks and speaks to us and reveals himself to us. Therefore, as we value our relationship with god, reading the Bible SHOULD be the most important part of our days, but I think if we’re honest with ourselves, it isn’t. No only it isn’t the most important thing, but he, if anyone is being completely honset, it’s a struggle to do it on a daily basis also. But, it’s so worth it! I feel like you just have to make it a habit and then maintain it as a part of your routine. For me, reading the Bible and discussing it with other people have helped me stay steady in my bible reading and hold me accountable.

One other thing to keep in mind is that reading the Bible isn’t the only important thing, but also knowing and studying it, and trying to glean wisdom from it.

Theodore Roosevelt once said, “A thorough knowledge of the Bible is worth more than a college education”. That really is true, as the Bible isn’t just any book, but a book that has potential to completely and totally change our lives.

Join me and let us challenge ourselves to read the Bible daily, it really is worth it and so important. It changes EVERYTHING.

Until next time,

Rose




15 views0 comments

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page