top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureRose

Just Believe.

The other night, I was flipping through my Bible and came across a passage in Mark where a synagogue leader named Jairus comes and pleads for Jesus to come to his house, saying: “My little daughter is dead. Please come and put your hands on her so that she will be healed and live” (Mark 5:23b). Jesus goes with this guy, but gets detained by a large crowd. While held up, he then heals a woman that had been sick for 12 years who was healed when she touched his cloak out of faith (see verses 24-34).

While all of that happened, people came from Jarius’ house and told him, “Your daughter is dead. Why bother the teacher anymore?” (Verse 35). Jesus’ response to their shockingly blatant unbelief to their question struck me. It says in verse 36: “Overhearing what they had said, Jesus told him, ‘Don’t be afraid, just believe.’”

Don’t be afraid, just believe.

Those words spoke to me. Needless to say, it hasn’t been an easy year. I have faced a lot of changes as we moved to a new country on a different continent for a short period of time (10 months ago), and we found out last Christmas that a family member has a terminal illness. Other people I am close with have also had health problems recently. A lot has happened, and it has just been hard as well as an extremely long year. A lot of the things that have transpired this year have kept me up at night and been hard to swallow. Let’s just say that change doesn’t come easily for me. I don’t want to accept it, so I try to fight it. Change challenges the little control I fathom that I have over my life, messes up any order that I have, along with my routines. It shows me that I am not in control. I couldn’t do anything to keep a loved one from having a disease or do anything to stop this move, and that scared me. That’s why, after this recent and life changing move, these words compelled and spoke to me. I was afraid of making new friends and meeting new people, but I didn’t have to be scared. All I had to do was believe and surrender my life at the foot of the cross once again.

That isn’t the easiest thing to do- it goes against human nature, that’s for sure.

When I got my priorities straight and started believing with all my heart that God is with me and reminding myself once again that He has a plan, I wasn’t afraid anymore. I then reasserted and knew with all of my heart, soul, and mind that nothing could ever separate me from Him, not in life nor in death. No matter what happened, He has a good plan for my

life (Jeremiah 29:11), and everything is going to be ok. Yes, things don’t always turn out the way we want them to. Yes, it’s not always easy. Yes, we are all going to suffer as Christians in this fallen and broken world. But that doesn’t change the fact that God is sovereign and good. By ok, I don’t mean that everything is going to be perfect. I mean that in the end all of the suffering and pain has a purpose. His plan is holy, and it’s a whole lot better than anything that I could ever dream of (or any other human for that matter, because we are just that: human). His plan is better than any movie script or book plot, better than my hopes, and dreams.

If you are like me and change is scary for you, talk to God about your fear. He can change it into trust and belief.

In 1 Peter 5:4, it says “Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.” God loves you and wants to hear about your anxiety. Talking to Him about it helps. Be vulnerable and tell Him how you feel right now and pray through what is going on during hard seasons. He can give you comfort, peace, and a joy that surpasses all understanding.

I don’t know what is going on in your life right now, and chances are, I don’t even know you personally. I do know something: my life is so much better with God In it. Without Him I am miserable. Do you have a relationship with Him, an intimate one at that? Are you blaming Him for the circumstances instead of praising Him for who He is?

People always would talk about praising the Lord through suffering, but I never understood that fully, even at all. But now, I do: no matter the circumstances, He is still the same. He still loves you, gave up His life for you, and is wholly and infinitely good. He deserves our praise and adoration, no matter our circumstances.

Let Him and others in; let them help. Being vulnerable is important. Talk about things with a trusted friend or adult, like your parents or a close friend.

I would definitely say through anything, the most important thing to do is to not lose sight of your faith. Instead, let the most difficult circumstances strengthen it, and lean on the Lord. Let Him be your stronghold, your fortress, and your help in times of trouble.

Believe He can change the situation. Granted, He may not choose to change it, but He has a plan. He will work everything out for good. Even the worst news has a greater purpose, even when we can’t see it. Now, I can see how God has used these recents events in my life and has greatly blessed me through everything.

Don’t be afraid, just believe.

He is with you, no matter what you are going through. He has a plan for the pain and suffering that you may feel right now. Everything is working for a greater purpose that we may not see.

All you have to do is believe.

I hope that you enjoyed this article! I would recommend Kasey’s article on transition if you are struggling with this (see here). It was really encouraging for me!


Rose

17 views0 comments

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page