top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureKasey

Long-Distance Friendships

Hey everyone! Today I'm talking about long-distance friendships, which almost every TCK has. I have friends that live in so many different time zones, and we've had to figure out ways to not only stay in touch but stay connected. Here are some of my favorite tips for long-distance friendships and ideas for you to try!

  1. FaceTime/video chat with your friends. This is definitely my number one tip! Seeing your friend's face while talking to them is so much more fun than just hearing their voice. If you video call, you can also see facial expressions, show them around your house, or show them anything that you need to. I FaceTime with Aliana almost every week, and it's always a delight to see her face.

  2. Read the same books at the same time. It can kind of be like a two-person book club, but choose to read a book at the same time as your friend! You can discuss the plot, your favorite characters, and everything else along the way. I haven't done this with a friend yet, but a friend and I recently read a book at almost the same time and we both loved it!

  3. Send voice memos or videos instead of messages! While messaging is great for a conversation, if you have something super long to say, it's always so fun to send a video or a voice memo to a friend! There's something so personal about hearing your friend's voice.

  4. Play a game or watch something online together. There are lots of games that can have people playing together from around the world! Skribbl.io is one of my favorites. You could also watch a movie or TV show together over Netflix Party or some other group watch app.

  5. Send photos to one another! This is another of my favorite ways to keep up with my friends' lives! They say photos are worth a thousand words, and I love seeing what my friends have been up to and what random photos they've taken.

  6. Share playlists! My friends and I share our music playlists with one another, and I love finding new songs and seeing what my friends like! You could also have a collaborative playlist on Spotify that you both add to!

I hope that you use some of these ideas to keep up with friends that live far away from you! They are so fun and easy ways to be more genuine in a friendship and connect more. You can always email us at tcktimes@gmail.com if you have any questions or suggestions or if you just want to say hi.

Kasey 🌵

30 views0 comments

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page