top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureRose

Making Your Room Cozier

As TCKs, a lot of us tend to move often. If we don’t, we usually travel often and a majority of us have moved at least once in our lives.


When you first move into a place, it feels weird and you might feel uncomfortable. It doesn’t feel like home and that just makes homesickness worse. Making friends helps the transition, but having a cozy room to come back to at the end of the stressful days that follow moving and transition definitely helps.



A couple of weeks ago, I was thinking about that, in light of a recent move, and I started asking myself, “ how can I make a strange place into a place where I feel comfortable and where I feel safe; how can a room go from just the place that you go to sleep and wake up into a place where you enjoy being/ a hangout spot?”

After thinking about it (and getting some help from Pinterest), I came up with a few ideas of simple ways to make your room cozier:


  • White twinkle lights: They change everything. It adds a cozy vibe to your space and makes it feel more like home. You can use Christmas lights or buy some at a Dollar Tree-type store.

  • Pictures: Add some pictures of key moments in your life or pictures with friends and family. This will make you feel more comfortable and the room will feel more like you. You can even put them in frames and lay them around the room. It’s a good, non-obtrusive solution.

  • Artwork: If you are an artsy person, why not try to add some of your work or replicas of famous artwork that you like around the room?

  • A blanket on your bed: Knit blankets are super cool and definitely add that “cozy” vibe to the room; they’re super comfy, too!

  • A rug: There are a bunch of super cute ones out there, so you can find one that goes with your room theme.

  • Make your bed and have less clutter lying around: These can help the day go better and you be more productive because you aren’t distracted by the mess. Personally, I get more done if I make my bed when I get up, and I can’t get anything done until my room is clean.

  • Plants

  • Candles: Just make sure to be safe! The warm light helps though, and you can get all types of scents. My personal favorites are the pumpkin scented candles.

  • Make a DIY headboard: You can find a lot of different ideas on Pinterest that aren’t too expensive, are simple, not complicated nor time-consuming to make, and won’t cost an arm and a leg.


I hope that you enjoyed this article and that this inspired you to make your room into a more comfortable, homey space!

Until next time,

Rose


25 views0 comments

Commentaires


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page