top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

Mother’s Day Reflections

What do you do for Mothers Day? For me, Mothers Day means a day filled with extra hugs and laughter around the dinner table. It's all meant to be fun and lighthearted, a day where we remember and appreciate the people who helped bring us into this world. I think it's great to remember one's parents, however, this year's Mothers Day got me thinking… 

Recently, me and two of my friends got the chance to talk to a professional counselor about his career in psychology. Psychology fascinates me, and I view it as a way to better connect and share with the people around me. I’ve been planning to go into psychology after high school, so connecting with a licensed professional seemed like a great idea. 

After chatting for a while our counseling friend asked each of us how old we were and whether or not we all had two parents living with us at home.

We promptly said yes. He then began to tell us just how lucky we were to have two undivorced, healthy, nonabusive parents with us at home. He told us that it would be almost statistically unheard of in our home countries to sit three teenagers over the age of fifteen, like ourselves, down on a couch and expect that they would all have two parents with them at home. Isn’t that sad?

So, what does this have to do with Mothers Day? 

Well, when Mothers Day rolled around I remembered the conversation I had with my counselor and it got me thinking about how lucky I am to have two healthy parents who love me and want to see me succeed. Most kids aren’t blessed with that sort of thing. 

I think Mothers Day (or Fathers Day) is a great day to remember our parents and all that they’ve done for us. But Mothers/Fathers day is only two days out of the entire year and, to be honest, the hype doesn’t last that long. The more I think about it, the more I believe that we should try our best to show our parent appreciation every day, not just on the days marked out for us on the calendar. After all, our parents have been given to us by God. He placed you in your family unit for a specific reason, even though that reason might not be known to you yet. 

Therefore, I encourage you all to show your love and appreciation for your parents in any way you can think of this week, and the next, and the next…you get the picture. Gratitude can be shown in a variety of ways and whatever you do, almost certainly your parents will be grateful for your show of kindness.

11 views0 comments

Commenti


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page