top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

November TCK Interview 2: Elizabeth

Hey everyone! This interview is a bit different than usual. Though I typically interview TCKs that still currently live overseas with their family, this month I was able to interview a TCK who is now an adult and living in the States. I thought it would be interesting to see the perspective of someone who has experienced living overseas as a kid but has lived in the States for a while. Also, I haven't had the chance to interview a TCK who is now an adult. I enjoyed this interview, and I hope you enjoy reading it!

1. Do you have any siblings?

Three sisters: 20, 16, 13.


2. What is the continent you live on?

Currently, I live in the US, but I used to live in Asia.


3. What is the home country or state you're from?

Virginia, USA.


4. What type of school do you go to? (national, international, homeschool, online school, etc)

I was homeschooled online and graduated high school in 2016.


5. How old are you?

24.


6. How long have you lived in your host country?

I lived in a South Asian country for 4 years and a Southeast Asian country for 5 years.


7. What are some great things about living overseas?

You meet so many amazing people overseas! I loved making new friends and going on adventures with them, whether that was shopping at local markets or climbing up waterfalls! I have lots of good memories from my many adventures. I also loved being able to experience different cultures. It gave me a bigger picture of the world and helps me relate to people even to this day!


8. What's one thing you miss about your home country?

I missed being able to see my family. I also really missed the seasons—especially fall. It was always so refreshing to leave the heat and enjoy the brisk, fall days when we’d go back to the US.


9. What are some of your extracurriculars and hobbies?

I used to take Taekwondo overseas and actually earned my black belt before we moved back to the US. Now my hobbies include singing, playing guitar, photography, cooking, thrift shopping, and of course traveling whenever I can!


10. How do you communicate with your friends in your home country?

Since I moved overseas when I was 8, I actually didn’t have friends I kept up with from home. However, I have MANY friends from overseas that I still keep in touch with! Usually through text, FaceTime, or Instagram.


11. How old were you when you became a TCK?

Guess I already answered that, haha! 8 :)


12. What's one hard thing about living overseas?

One of the hardest things was not knowing what “home” was for me. Was it my host country or home country? It was hard to answer that and sometimes it made me feel out of place.


13. What's your favorite food that you can get in your home country?

Chick-fil-A all the way! First thing we’d always get off the plane.


14. Is there anything else you'd like to add?

I am very grateful for the experiences my parents gave me by allowing me to grow up overseas. Now living back in the US for over 7 years, I miss the very special TCK community and all of the unique experiences within my host countries. Being a TCK has also given me many opportunities in my adult life—it even helped me get my current job! God has you in the country you’re in for a reason and He will use that for His glory. :)


 

I just want to give a big thank you to Elizabeth for taking the time to answer all these questions. Another thanks to all of our readers who give us support & take the time out of your day to email us. Remember, you are God’s creation, made in His image by His own hands! Don’t forget that God loves you so deeply. If you would like us to interview you for one of the coming months' TCK interviews, please feel free to email us at tcktimes@gmail.com. Hope you are having a beautiful day.



~ Aliana 🌻

24 views0 comments

コメント


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page