top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

Penpalling 101

Hey everyone! Raise your hand if you LOVE writing letters!! I do too! Writing letters to your friends is so much fun. I know that it can be hard to keep in contact with people, especially when you're a TCK because of moving and all. I write letters to my friends as one way to keep in contact with them and it is probably one of the most fun ways that I have found! So, today I thought that I would give you a few tips on how to write the letter such as what stationary I use, tips on where to get inspiration, and more related things like that! Let's get into it.

ENVELOPE

I love decorating the envelope!!! To be honest, it is probably one of my favorite parts. The best thing about it is you can decorate it HOWEVER you want! I love painting little flowers on them, putting washi tape in cool designs, etc. There are so many ways to do this, just be creative! I love doing this because it makes the process even more fun by making the envelope special and unique. I usually look on Pinterest for inspiration.


THE LETTER

I don't decorate this part too much. Usually, I will write everything in a black pen because I like how it looks. You can choose whatever pen color you want though! I have a friend who always writes to me in a gold pen and I love it! I think it is such a gorgeous look and makes the letter 10x better. ;) Also, I love putting a bit of washi tape right before I write their name at the top, which I usually write in BIG letters and cursive. (As you can see in the picture above.) I don't know why, but I think this looks really cute! I also put the date that I write the letter at the top because I like looking back at the letters and knowing what order they all go in.

When writing a return letter, I like to write everything in a certain order. You don't have to follow this outline, but for the people who are curious, I will share what that is here.

  1. I like to let them know how much they mean to me in each letter. I tell them how thankful I am that God put them in my life, what my favorite things about them are, and sometimes I share what my favorite memories of them are. I like to remind them that they are loved, cherished, and created for a purpose. It's always a great reminder and I love starting off my letters like that.

  2. Then, I start answering their questions, usually followed by me asking their answers to their own questions if it is something like "what is your favorite..." or "how was your week?" That gives more conversation.

  3. After all of that, I update them on what I've been doing since we last wrote.

  4. I will finish up with a few questions. I usually like to ask at least three questions.

  5. At the bottom of the letter, I always add a verse to encourage them & remind them of truth.

  6. And of course, I will sign the letter!!

I hope this outline helps! :)


EXTRAS

This is such a fun part. This is where you can add little surprises, if you want, in addition to the letter! I am going to give you all a few ideas of tiny things that fit into an envelope.

-Confetti

-Flowers

-Stickers

-Polaroids/printed photos

-Art that you have done

-Lists (your current playlist, current reads, things you're thankful for, etc.)

-Teabags

-Origami

-Washi tape samples (wrap some around a popsicle stick)

-Loose scrap paper

-A poem

-Create your own MadLibs

-Recipes


SUPPLIES I ENJOY USING

Obviously, you don't need these supplies to send off a letter. However, I have put together a list of some stationery or other supplies I have or enjoy using to help you figure out what you could use.


-Washi tape. I don't know if you have caught on, but I use this ALL. THE. TIME.

-Lined paper. I usually use this, but occasionally I don't. I use it because it helps everything line up and helps it look better & cleaner.

-Pretty stamps. This is always nice to have! It gives your letter an extra pretty look.

-Cute colored pens! You'd probably say I'm obsessed with pens, but they are such an essential for a writer!! (and cute colors don't hurt either )

-Confetti. I have some little star confetti that I almost always use. It's so cute!!

-Paint. Art is so fun to do on pen-pal letters!!!


Remember, it's not about how "pretty" your stationery is or if you have a "cute" envelope or a plain one, but it's about what you write and how you are continuing to pour into your friendship. You are taking time out of your day to make something special for them. That in itself is enough. It makes people feel special when someone is seen & loved.

Well, that's all I have written for this article. I hope that you found some helpful tips for staying in contact with friends through penpalling. If you have any questions, please email us at tcktimes@gmail.com. God loves you so much and He wants you to have a relationship with Him. He is a personal God and wants you to talk to Him. He’s waiting for you and is ready to welcome you. Remember, you are God’s creation, made in His image by His own hands! Please take at least 10 minutes to spend time with Him today, praying and/or spending time in His Word. Have an amazing and beautiful day & don’t forget to look for the simple joys God gives you today! ❤️


~ Aliana 🌻

40 views0 comments

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page