top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureKasey

TCK Interview: Gareth

Hello everyone! Today's article is an interview with my friend Gareth. He's been a TCK for a number of years and recently moved back to his home country. He's a great friend and I'm so glad I got to interview him! Enjoy learning a bit about Gareth and his life as a TCK.

How old are you?

I am fifteen years old.


Do you have any siblings?

I have a brother who is 13 and a sister who is 10.


What continent was your host country in?

As a TCK, I lived in South Asia.


What is your home country?

I am from Australia


What type of school did you go to in your host country?

When I was living in my host country, I went to a private international school.


How long did you live in your host country? I lived there for about 8 years in total.


How old were you when you became a TCK?

I was 8 when we moved overseas.


What are some great things about living overseas for you?

A great thing about living overseas is seeing all the diverse cultures and getting to know people from loads of different countries.


What's one thing you miss about living overseas?

One thing I miss about living overseas is that, well... there's loads more than one but what I miss the most is the country itself, and the people involved in my life when I was living there.


What's one hard thing about moving back to your home country?

One thing hard moving back to my home country is adjusting to a culture that I have got minimal experience with and not having many friends at school (again, there is way more than one thing).


What are your extracurriculars and hobbies?

Some hobbies and extracurricular activities I do are speedcubing, solving Rubik's cubes as fast as possible. I also enjoy playing sports like table tennis, mountain biking, football (soccer). I also do athletics and anything involved outdoors or in nature.


How do you communicate with your friends in different countries?

I communicate with my friends in different countries through online chatting platforms and social media. The ones I use are Google Hangouts/ emails, Discord, and Instagram. 


What is one hard thing about living overseas?

One hard thing about living overseas is knowing that one day you will probably have to say goodbye to the country and your friends/ community in it; for me, goodbyes are always hard


Is there anything you wish you could have done in your host country before moving back to your home country?

There are many things I would like to have done before we left to come back to Australia, but due to coronavirus, not many of these could have happened. I would have LOVED a big goodbye party with lots of people to say farewell to. I would have liked to travel more around the country like going trekking and rafting in the mountains and rivers.


Is there anything else you'd like to add? A message to people currently living as TCK's: I speak from experience, use your time with friends as much as possible, and learn to be thankful for the amazing experience you have been gifted to be a TCK. The same goes for people who aren't TCK's, be grateful and loving towards one another. There's so much more I'd like to say, but I've been told to keep it short. Thanks for reading, and God bless you, Gareth.


 

Thank you, Gareth for doing this interview with me! If anyone would like to be interviewed, write a guest post, or share their questions with us, email us at tcktimes@gmail.com.

Kasey🌵

19 views0 comments

Comentários


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page