top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureKasey

Where I'm From

Where are you from?

That's a question TCKs are asked often- and sometimes it is hard to know the answer to that question, whether you were born overseas or moved across the world when you were 11, whether you have moved seven times or only once. Every TCK's story is different.

In my life, I've moved anywhere from 4-8 times (it depends on what you count as 'moving' 😉). I've lived in three countries across two continents, and five cities in those three countries. When people ask me where I'm from, I will usually just say "America," in reply. That's the short answer, the simple answer, the easy answer. It's the country where my parents are from, and although I was born overseas, I moved back to the US as a baby and spent a couple of years in the States. Since we moved back overseas when I was six, I've been back to the US four times; that's a total of about 20 months over a nine-year period in my 'home country'.


I will say I'm from America because of the deep roots my family has in our town there. While I know so many TCKs that have to split their time between at least two different places while stateside, both sides of my family live in the same town. This has been a huge blessing over the years, and it means that I return to the same town, same church, and same people every time I come back to the US. My family has roots here, and that's not super common for TCKs.


However, even though I say I'm from America, there are so many aspects of South Asian life that are in my daily life. I am a mix of cultures and people and influences. I think that's a beautiful thing, but sometimes it's hard to explain to people who just want a short answer. So, I say "America" because my family is from there and my extended family is there. I say it because I feel that 'my' third culture is still largely American (which may be because of widespread American media). I say it because the beauty of being a TCK is so hard to explain and takes time and deep thought.


In 2019, I shared a poem called 'Where I'm From' by George Ella Lyon and I mentioned that I might share my 'Where I'm From' poem if I ever wrote one. I reread this post a few weeks ago and thought I might write a poem of my own, to show the complexity and beauty of being a TCK.




Where I'm From


I am from a mish and mash of cultures,

From nights spent learning how to swing dance and from the same 5 VBS songs,

I am from 4th of July fireworks versus Diwali fireworks,

From harmonizing to Bohemian Rhapsody and belting out Rascal Flatts lyrics,

From arguing over how to pronounce "Dobby" and walking on the other side of the road to avoid street dogs.

I am from s'mores on Christmas Eve and family FaceTimes Christmas morning,

From jet-lagged nights by heaters, grabbing umbrellas to defend against monkeys, and Friday nights spent playing games in the basement.

I am from months of monsoon, being bored inside,

From Pepsi floats for 29 rupees and cinnamon rolls from that place down the road and sweet potato pie.

I am from "y'all!" and "thik chha" and learning how to ask for mango popsicles.

From "your flight has been delayed"

From "bideshi"

From "welcome home".

79 views0 comments

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page