top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

Where is Home?


Home. Is my home in one of the 6 houses in South Asia that I've lived in? Is it in one of the 5 cities I have had homes in over the past 15 years of my life? Is my home in one of the 2 different states my extended family lives? Or is my home in the state I currently live in where God has us temporarily?

People say, "Home is where the heart is." But each of these places holds a piece of my heart, yet none of them feel quite right to call "home." Most people imagine a house when they think of "home" but for us TCKs, home is more than a building. It's more than where we live. That kind of home is only temporary.

Throughout my life, I’ve learned the beauty of each "home" I've been blessed with. I've learned that the Lord places us wherever we are supposed to be when we are supposed to be there. I've learned to be grateful for the opportunity to live in so many different countries and experience so many different cultures. But most importantly I've learned that no matter how many "homes" we have in our lives, no matter how many towns, cities, countries, or even continents we live on, this Earth is only temporary. It is not our home. "For this world is not our home; we are looking forward to our everlasting home in heaven." Hebrews 13:14 No matter how many beautiful homes we have here on earth, they can't even compare to the marvelous, majestic, glory of our true home in heaven.

As TCKs, I feel as if we are able to understand this in a special way since we have many homes. But I also think as TCKs knowing this truth can help us realize that no matter how many homes we have here on earth, no matter how many goodbyes we have to say, how many people we meet, how many places we leave behind, or how many beautiful things are "ruined" in our mind because of moving, we are able to look forward to eternal life in heaven.

So if you are struggling with a new transition, whether that be moving to another town or another country, another school or another church, losing a friend, or having a friend move away, shed those tears, yes, but also remember that this is not the end. This is only the beginning of the perfect kingdom the Lord is creating for us. So don't focus too much on earthly things but set your mind on things above as the Bible states in Colossians‬ ‭3:2 ‭“Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth." Realize we have all been called by God to go share. No matter what that looks like. Go & share. Go & share at the grocery store, go & share on the street, go & share with your neighbor, go & share no matter where you are, what you're doing, or where you live. Just do it because God has commanded us to. And in the end, it will all be worth it when we are in eternity & witness what is in Revelation 7:9 “After this I looked, and behold, a great multitude that no one could number, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands,” When I looked up the definition of home on Google, I had this result: The place where one lives permanently, especially as a member of a family or household. As TCKs, we know better than anyone that this definition of home is not realistic for a home on earth. But I think this is a beautiful picture of heaven. We, as God's children (part of his family) & as part of his household in heaven are able to live permanently with Him. Isn't that incredible?

So, no matter how many beautiful homes you have here on earth, no matter how many towns, cities, countries, or even continents you live on, remember this Earth is only temporary. It is not our home. No place on this planet or on any planet in the universe can even compare to the marvelous, majestic, glory of our true home in heaven. Remember that.


"For this world is not our home; we are looking forward to our everlasting home in heaven."

183 views7 comments

7 Comments


Hello! I’m a TCK and I’ve really struggled a lot with this question lately. Thanks so much for writing this!

Like
Aliana
Aliana
Aug 24, 2022
Replying to

That is so encouraging to hear! I'm so glad this article helped you with such an important topic!

Like

Rose
Rose
Aug 23, 2022

Wow! That is so beautifully written and so encouraging!! thank you for sharing!!!! I really love this piece!!!

Like
Rose
Rose
Aug 24, 2022
Replying to

Thank you!!

Like

Kasey
Kasey
Aug 23, 2022

This is such a beautiful piece of writing, Aliana!

Like
Aliana
Aliana
Aug 24, 2022
Replying to

Thank you, Kasey!!

Like
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page