top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureKasey

Returning

As a TCK, something I've had to deal with recently is returning to my "home country", my passport country for some time. Many TCKs I know have had to return to their home countries in the past two years because of COVID-19 or furlough or other reasons. Most times I've come back to my passport country just for a month or so to see family and vacation some, but this time, we are back for an extended time before returning overseas, and there have been some major differences.

One of the main differences has been meeting new people. When we have come back to our passport country in the past, my family has spent all our time seeing old friends and family before we return overseas; this time, we have been meeting new people and investing in new relationships. We have been spending time getting to know people at our church and attending events from that, as well as getting involved in sports. My siblings and I are all part of a swim team this summer, which has definitely been a different experience. It can be quite overwhelming to meet tons of new people, most of whom have known one another for a long time. It can also be hard meeting new people because people have had such different experiences than me! So many of these people have lived in one city their whole lives (as opposed to my five) and they have not been the new kid as much as TCKs typically have. Even though I may not have a similar background to most of these kids, God has still provided and sent super sweet and kind people. As I wrote about in my post about being the new kid, it is definitely worth it to be intentional about reaching out to people and trying to get to know them better. That is something I keep seeing being pointed out in my life, and something I try to always keep in mind.


Something I've been struggling with as I have returned to my passport country is being content. It is hard to not be where many of my friends are in my host country, where I have been for the past two years, and where I have community. At the same time, it is hard being here in my passport country and thinking about the life I could have if I stay here. The grass always does seem greener on the other side. To friends here, my life seems super exotic and cool- traveling to new places, eating all sorts of foods, and meeting all sorts of people. While those things are super cool and fun, stressful traveling, time zones, and numerous goodbyes aren't always seen. On the other side, to me, a life in one place, going to the same school for more than three years, and not having friends move every year sounds great! I know that there are hardships in every life, and I am incredibly thankful that God has given me the gift of growing up as a TCK; He is working in me and helping me be content with where I am right now instead of worrying about the future and the past. By focusing on the present and the friends I have here and now, I am able to enjoy myself more and not worry as much.


While this change has been hard, it has also been such a blessing. I have been able to see extended family and friends that I have not seen in years. I have been able to go to a library and check out paper books, which is such a joy to me. There have been so many little blessings that I see every day here and I thank God for.



This is just a little bit about returning to my passport country for an extended time; I know that many other TCKs experience this and might struggle with some of the same things I do. God is working in all of us and none of us are perfect and aren't expected to be. Through this change, God has continued to work in me and change me as well as surprise me in unexpected ways.

Kasey

21 views0 comments

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page