top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

September TCK Interview: Edward

Hey friends! If you read last month's interview, you might remember my friend Sarahlynn. Well, today I'm sharing the interview I had with her oldest brother, Edward. I really enjoyed this interview (yes, I know I say that every time, but it's true)! I think Edward did a great job explaining what his life is like as a TCK and I enjoyed hearing about his experiences. So with all that, let's get into it!

1. Do you have any siblings? I have an older sister who is 16, and younger brothers who are 13, 10, and 9.

2. What is the continent you live on?

I used to live in Asia, but we are moving to Europe soon.

3. What is the home country or state you're from? My parents are from the USA. My dad is from North Carolina, and my mom is from South Carolina.

4. What type of school do you go to? (national, international, homeschool, online school, etc) I have been homeschooled my entire life. 5. How old are you? I just turned 15. 6. How long have you lived in your host country? I have lived in India for 10 years. Currently, we have been living in the United States for a couple of years because we are trying to move to the UK. Now, we are finally about to move there.

7. What are some great things about living overseas? One great thing about living overseas for me was the number of people I got to know and grow close to. We lived in a very large apartment complex because that was the only type of housing in the big city where we lived. I got to know about 30 different kids in the neighborhood. I also loved the area where we lived. There were lots of swamps, and every day the flamingos would fly in, and then leave when the sun was setting. It was very awesome to watch them as they flew in and left in a giant cloud.

8. What's one thing you miss about your home country? One thing that I always missed was my cousins. I have six cousins, and I am very close to one of them who is my age. Whenever we would visit, I would play outside with him all day long. 9. What are some of your extracurriculars and hobbies? My favorite extracurricular activity is soccer. In our city in India, we would go to a field in our complex, and we would play soccer almost every day with our friends. We would just set up cones and anyone who wanted to play could join in. This was one of my favorite parts of living overseas because I made so many friends. Many of them were not Christians, but one of them was, and we got to know him very well. I think that once we move to the UK, I will still want to play soccer there.

10. How do you communicate with your friends in your home country? Mostly, because I was young then, I did not communicate with my cousins or friends. I did not have a phone to talk to my friends with. The only communication I really had was that I could send my grandfather emails on my computer, and he would respond back by sending an email or a letter telling us about stuff that happened at his house. 11. How old were you when you became a TCK? Technically I have been a TCK my whole life. I was born in Europe, and then my parents moved to America again. Then, I came to India when I was about 3 years old. I have lived there for 10 years, and now we are getting ready to move again. 12. What's one hard thing about living overseas? The hardest thing about being overseas was seeing the lost people of other religions. There were many religions where we lived, but the most common was Hinduism. Early on when we lived in a different house, there was a temple just next to our house, and I remember a cobra statue and all of the loud bells that were inside of it.

13. What's your favorite food that you can get in your home country? I really loved southern Indian food such as idli and dosa. Idli was like a soft rice cake that was very bland. You would dip it in a sauce to give it some flavor. Dosa was like a very thin buttery pancake that you could add cheese, curry, or masala on top. 14. Is there anything else you'd like to add? Now, my dad is changing where he is working, so we are moving to the UK. We will move just outside of London, so we will be able to visit very often. I have visited England before, and I am really excited to move there. We have some friends there, and I am excited to see them again. However, I miss a lot of my friends from India, and once we move I will miss all of my friends from America.

I just want to give a big thank you to Edward for putting up with all the questions that were asked & also for taking the time to answer them. Another thanks to all of our readers who give us support & take the time out of your day to email us. Remember, you are God’s creation, made in His image by His own hands! Don’t forget that God loves you so deeply. If you would like us to interview you for one of the coming months' TCK interviews, please feel free to email us at tcktimes@gmail.com. Hope you are having a beautiful day. God loves you! ~ Aliana 🌻

62 views2 comments

2 Comments


Kasey
Kasey
Sep 21, 2021

I love this interview!!

Like
Aliana
Aliana
Sep 21, 2021
Replying to

Thank you Kasey!

Like
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page