top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags
  • Writer's pictureKasey

TCK Interview: Ethan

Hey everyone! Today I'm interviewing Ethan, Avery's older brother (check out one of her guest posts here )! He's a really fun person, and also super smart. I'm glad I got to interview him so you can hear about his life as a TCK!

How old are you?

I am 14, turning 15 really soon.


Do you have any siblings?

My sister is Avery, and she’s 12. My brother, Benjamin, is 10.


What is your home country?

The US of A (America)


What continent do you live on?

Asia


How long have you lived in your host country?

Around three years now!


What type of school do you go to?

I go to an international school- there’s a lot of diversity in our school.


What are your extracurriculars and hobbies?

I like playing RPG (role-playing games) games such as D&D. I also enjoy talking with my friends, playing other board games, and reading books!


How old were you when you became a TCK?

I was 12.


Do you communicate with your friends in your home country?

Yeah! Quite a bit actually. I have one or two good friends who I keep up with. Now that there are so many resources online, it’s really easy to call each other, talk, or do something online.


What are some great things about living overseas for you?

I have some really awesome friends. I might not have had as good of friends as I do now If I had stayed in the USA. I’ve also been able to have very different experiences than what I would have had. I’ve been exposed to the poor parts of the world, and I know it’s made a major and positive impact on me. I’ve realized just how much work we have left to spread the good news of Jesus. And while this may seem daunting, we are continuing to grow God’s kingdom around the world.


What’s one hard thing about living overseas?

Not having Amazon. It’s funny but so true! In countries with delivery apps, it’s easy to forget just how easy it is to access just about anything! Where I am, buying something as simple as a book might take a few days to do.


What’s one thing you miss about your home country?

Not being able to hang out with family. My family is large and is very close. My cousins are my age, and we have some similar interests. I haven’t been able to talk or be with them as much as I have, and I miss being able to communicate a lot with them.


Is there anything else you'd like to add?

Being a TCK has been a massive blessing for me. I’ve had to overcome challenges, sure. But being a TCK, I’ve been able to shift my focus away from the bad things, and towards the things that make life awesome. While I have had to give up the luxuries that a developed country had to offer, I’ve gained so much more than physical things.


I want to give a big thank you to Ethan for answering the questions (he did it really quickly as well!). And thank you to YOU our readers! If you have any questions or suggestions for The TCK Times (or if you just want to say hi😊), email us at tcktimes@gmail.com. Make sure to check out our other articles!

Kasey 🌵

26 views1 comment

1 comentário


Ethan
Ethan
16 de abr. de 2021

Was a fun experience, thanks for the opportunity to share some of my story!

Curtir
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page