top of page
Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

December Guest Post: Christmas as a TCK in Hard Times

Hey everyone! It's Kasey, here to introduce December's guest post writer. Rose is an excellent friend of mine, and she's been interviewed twice on The TCK Times! Check out her first interview in August of 2019 and her COVID-19 Interview. I'm so thankful that Rose was able to write this article!

I do not know what Christmas this year looks like for you guys. Maybe some of you were going to fly back to your home country, and flights were canceled. Maybe some of you guys are on lockdown. Maybe some of you are on partial lockdown. Maybe you can't be in your host country right now and have to go back to your home country. Maybe visits from family were canceled.

Personally, I usually miss my family around the holidays. I have so many good memories at holidays hanging out with my family; we used to spend the holidays with family. For as long as I can remember, on a weekend around the holidays, all my mom’s family got together. We would do a potluck meal and all the 19 cousins played together in my grandmother’s yard. And then we would exchange presents, eat way too much good food, and have fun. We would usually go visit a family member on Christmas day, most of the time on my dad’s side of the family.

Now, as a TCK, that has all changed. And this year, with COVID-19, it looks even more different.

Here are some ideas of fun things to do during Christmas in your host country or wherever you are:

  1. Get together with your friends! You could go last minute Christmas shopping and grab Starbucks with some friends.

  2. Online gift shopping: buy presents for family and friends in your home country online, that way you won’t have to pay for shipping from your host country. I personally like Amazon, but you can buy things online at Walmart and Target too (in the USA).

  3. Do a cookie exchange with some friends! I saw this idea on Pinterest and I haven't been able to do it, but it sounds like fun, and can also be done while social distancing!

  4. Make cards for your family friends. My brothers and I have been making cards for family members and friends lately. At school, everyone made a card, and they are going to be randomly handed out.

  5. Make Christmas cards and send them to the elderly in nearby nursing homes. This would definitely bring a smile to their faces.

  6. Try cooking new treats with some friends or helping with the Christmas meal... I personally really enjoy cooking. :) Making cookies around the holidays is a lot of fun!

  7. Start a new Christmas tradition. My friends and I want to buy ugly sweaters together because none of us have ever been able to do that.

  8. Binge watch Christmas movies. There are tons of good movies out there! My family recently watched Elf, and it was REALLY funny! If you are on lockdown, Disney+ and Netflix have this new feature called Group watch, and it is really awesome!

  9. Make DIY Christmas gifts for your parents, grandparents, etc. (My grandparents usually love getting handmade gifts) You could make handmade jewelry, make a pencil holder out of clay, etc. Pinterest has some really great ideas. And it's a great way to be creative.

We hope you loved this guest post by Rose!!

83 views0 comments

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page